Four Nuggets I Learned Developing a Global Social Media Strategy (Part 2)

2)   Everyone else is an expert

There is a difference between using social media and making it work for your organization. In not about tweeting or posting, it is about building a plan that includes both strategy and tactic. Most folks I talk to would rather get into the weeds and talk about tactics such as, “ I think we should post six times a day” rather than “our goal in using social media is …, we will achieve our goals by implementing X, Y, and Z.” Two different approaches that will yield different results.

Being an expert isn’t about tweeting or posting on Facebook, it is about knowing how and when to implement. There’s a difference in any social media presence when someone behind the team is a strategist versus practitioner. A strategist asks “why” before evening putting anything out in the socialsphere, the tactical marketer puts it out there and see’s what sticks.

Ultimately it comes down to do you know why your doing social media.  To put this in perspective, I default to my token phrase, “ Just because my 16 year old niece is on Facebook, doesn’t make her an expert at Facebook.”

6 responses to “Four Nuggets I Learned Developing a Global Social Media Strategy (Part 2)

  1. Thanks so much for your kind words. I learned a lot about how to implement a centralized social media strategy and wanted to share best practice. Hope you were able to take a few lessons for your own use.

  2. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or
    maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My blog goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and
    I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you happen to be interested feel free
    to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

    • Hi Debbra,

      Sounds interesting. I am having some trouble finding your blog. Could you provide some more information about the type of content you are interested in providing and vis versa?

      Looking forward to connecting soon.

      Rachel

  3. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and
    entertaining, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something which not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I
    came across this during my hunt for something concerning this.

  4. Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Thank you!

    • So many to chose! I would check out Mari Smith (Facebook), Amy Portfield (Facebook), Jay Baer (Content Marketing, Social Media), KnoGimmicks Social Media & Web Design™ (he’s on wordpress too), Content Marketing Institute (Joe Polizzi), Krista Neher (Social Media), and MarketingProfs.

Leave a Reply

