Who is Driving Your Social Media Bus?

Who is Driving Your Social Media Bus?

I don’t know about you, but in the many articles I read, I don’t see anything about who is managing the social media channels. I see plenty of articles on how to to use social media, but nothing on advice on how best to manage. So, here is my advice. Don’t forget about the human element to social media. I think there is a huge error in undervaluing the human element to social media.

Any successful program needs a point person. As the communication point person at my company, I led our social media efforts during the foundation-building stage. I partnered with different groups cross-divisionally to find interesting industry nuggets in addition to sharing our “corporate news.” Key stakeholders included policy, sales, marketing, and senior leaders. However, your most important asset will be employees (your front-line brand ambassadors and have their ear to the ground to what is relevant).  In other words, what people do you plan to use in order to implement your social media attack plan.

Danger, Danger Will Robinson. Do not confuse people who want to review social media as collaborators. You need folks who are willing and able to roll up their sleeves and get involved.

This is not a one-person show if you plan to be around for the next act. It must be a collaborative effort, but collaborative efforts can be challenging if everyone is not on the same page.

Don’t forget it about the human element. Don’t forget the “social.”

2 responses to “Who is Driving Your Social Media Bus?

  1. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?

    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

Leave a Reply

